South East Scotland Scouts logoSOUTH EAST SCOTLAND SCOUTS

Supporting Scouting in Edinburgh, East Lothian, Midlothian, the Borders


Supporting Scouting in Edinburgh, East Lothian, Midlothian, the Borders

South East Scotland Scouts logo

Our centres

We run two Centres: Bonaly and Longcraig.

Adult Training

We share with the Districts the provision of training for adults involved in Scouting.

Support for Districts

We support our seven Districts in the provision of quality Scouting across the Region.

South East Scotland Region

The Census for 2017 shows steady growth in our Region – both youth members and the adults who lead and support them.

9083 members

2.5% growth in youth members

30.1% growth in adult volunteers

Our Region

South East Scotland is one the eight Regions that form Scouts Scotland. The Scouts Scotland website provides up-to-date information about Scouting in Scotland, where the structure and some other matters differ from the rest of the UK.

The Region stretches from Edinburgh on the south bank of the River Forth to the English border. It includes the local authority council areas of Edinburgh, East Lothian, Midlothian and Scottish Borders. The Region covers areas of high urban population, rural areas in East Lothian and Scottish Borders as well as the developing area of Midlothian with a mix of growing towns and rural life. There are over 7,000 young people enjoying Scouting in this Region. They are led and supported by almost 2,000 adult volunteers. Scouting offers young people aged 6-25 years an exciting, adventurous programme of activities which encourages interests in outdoor, creative, community based and inclusive activities. Scouting is a value based organisation which encourages self-development, good citizenship and consideration of others. Membership is open to all young people in the age range. Most of all, Scouting is fun.

We support a number of areas covered elsewhere on the website, mainly in the Information section. These include Development, Training and Safeguarding.

Our Districts

The Region is made up of seven Districts. The map of South East Region shows the approximate location of Scout Groups (Beavers, Cubs and Scouts), Explorer Units and Centres across the Region.

What happens in the Districts

Scout Districts are where the programme is delivered to young people. The Scout Districts manage the Scout Groups, Explorer Scout Units and Scout Network within them.



  • The geographical area of Blackford, Newington, Gilmerton, Morningside, Greenbank, Buckstone, Fairmilehead and Liberton
  • District Commissioner: David Colley
  • More about Braid District




  • The geographical area of Clermiston, Cramond, Blackhall, Davidson’s Mains, Craigleith, Kirkliston, Comely Bank, South Queensferry, Corstorphine, Carrick Knowe, Craigsbank, East Craigs, Saughton
  • District Commissioner: Mark Hesketh
  • More about Craigalmond District
East Lothian



How the Districts work

A Scout District is run by the District Commissioner and District Executive Committee. The District Commissioner is assisted by a team of Deputies and Assistants. Everyone involved is a volunteer. The District Commissioner is a member of the Regional Team.

Edinburgh North East
  • The geographical area of Portobello, Craigentinny, Craigmillar, Duddingston, Joppa, New Town, Broughton, Trinity, Leith, Newhaven, Wardie and Willowbrae
  • The District Commissioner is Rob Whitelaw.
  • More about Edinburgh North East District
  • The geographical area of Balerno, Juniper Green, Currie, Ratho, Colinton, Craiglockhart, Baberton, Sighthill, Colinton Mains, Oxgangs, Longstone and Shandon
  • The Deputy District Commissioner is Neil Hogg.
  • More about Pentland District