Cubs Take to the Water at Longcraig

Longcraig Scout Centre issued a challenge to all Cub packs in the region to name their new Drascombe boat. The criteria was that the name had to have a “wind” theme. We had a good response from Cub packs across the region and a small panel of Longcraig members chose the winning entry.


St George’s Day Silver Acorn awards

The specially distinguished service given by the adults listed below has been recognised by the award of the Silver Acorn in this year’s St George’s Day Awards.

  • Margaret Aitken Borders District Secretary
  • Bruce MacDonald Scout Leader 108th (Colinton)and Regional ASU member (Longcraig)
  • Diane Marshall Deputy Regional Commissioner
  • Lawrence Mitchell 51st Group ASU member and AAC member Pentland District
  • Peggy Wills AAC member Borders District
  • Robert Young ASU Manager Craigalmond District
  • The Silver Acorn has also been awarded to Evelyn Rose AAC member Borders District who sadly died in December 2015