The Regional Annual General Meeting

Quick links

The Region held its Annual General Meeting for April 2021 to March 2022 on Thursday October 11th 2022. To make the meeting accessible to as many people as possible across the Region the Regional Executive Committee decided to hold it virtually on Zoom.  

The meeting was hosted by Dick Allan, President of the South East Scotland Scout Regional Council. 

Before the business meeting began, a short video highlighting Scouting from across the Region in the form of an A to Z was shown and is available below for those who want to watch or rewatch it. Andrew Sharkey, Chief Commissioner, Scouts Scotland commented that the video showed that it was clear we were moving back to normality, and it was great to see activities such as the Gang Show taking place again and Bonaly full of young people from across the Scout movement. He said a big thank you was due to all across the Region for all that they do. 

After approval of the minutes from last year’s AGM, John Cannon gave the Trustees Annual Report in which he highlighted that the year was very rewarding and thanked members for their support. He outlined how the Trustees meetings were returning to normal after Covid and he commented on the Regional Strategy review recently carried out following the pandemic. He thanked the Regional Commissioner and the Regional Leadership Team for developing a strong plan for 2022 to 2025. He also said we ware fortunate to have two outdoor centres at Bonaly and Longcraig which have been able to offer great facilities to our young people and outlined plans for upgrading both centres. He also thanked Edward Baker Gray for all he has done as he steps down from the Regional Executive Committee. 

In the absence of Treasurer Bruce MacDonald, Dock Allan presented some comments on the Annual Accounts. It was highlighted it had been a hard year for the Region financially, with a deficit due to lower income from Bonaly and Longcraig Centres but that the financial position of the Region remains strong. Thanks were given to finance teams at the centres and the region. The Trustees Annual Report and Accounts were adopted.  

John Cannon (Regional Chair) and Simon Innes (Vice Regional Chair), Andrew Wood (Regional Secretary) and Bruce Macdonald (Regional Treasurer) were all approved to carry on in their roles for a further year.  Scott Goddard, Sue Timmins, Colin Orr and Struan Fairweather were elected unopposed to the Regional Executive Committee. It was also confirmed that Margaret Winter and John Lunn will remain in their current roles as nominated members on the Regional Executive Committee. The meeting also approved the co-opting of Steve Gamble and Andrew Penker onto the Regional Executive Committee. Martin Elliot’s (Regional Commissioner) and Roux Hanna-McNiven (Regional Adviser – Youth Involvement)’s nominations to serve on the Council of the Scout Association were also approved.  

Martin Elliot then gave the Regional Commissioner’s Report – he said it was brilliant to see the return of many Scouting events that had been unable to run in recent years due to COVID. He highlighted the recent return of the Edinburgh Gang Show and thanked the young people, many of whom were involved for the first time, who were great ambassadors for Scouting. He thanked all members for rising to recent challenges including Covid, the cost-of-living crisis and the death of our Parton Her Majesty the Queen. He also reflects on the legacy left by our previous RC Margery Naylor who was a brilliant ambassador for Scouting. Martin looked forward to exciting times ahead – our Regional Strategy is designed to support Groups and Districts, with some ambitious goals plus support and tools to deliver these – how we grow, become more inclusive, involve young people in decision making and how we have an impact on the communities in which we live. He highlighted the work of our Scouting Support Officer, Kirstie Armsworth on recruiting new volunteers and the improvements to the volunteer experience coming in 2023. Martin congratulated all those who have received good service awards and also thanked the Awards Committee chaired by John Bruce. He finished by thanking all members for their endeavours and support.  

The vote of thanks was given by Scott Goddard, Transformation Lead for SES.